Big Ten Wrestling Championships pre-seeds released

BY DI STAFF | MARCH 03, 2015 5:00 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Three Iowa wrestlers will be the top seeds at their respective weights for this weekend’s Big Ten championships, set for Saturday and March 8 in St. John Arena at Ohio State.

Thomas Gilman (125), Brandon Sorensen (149), and Sammy Brooks (184) all earned the No. 1 seeds, tied for the most in the tournament. The Buckeyes also have three — Logan Stieber (141), Bo Jordan (165), and Kyle Snyder (197).

Additionally, Iowa is the only team with all 10 wrestlers seeded seventh or better.

Mike Evans was the next-highest Hawkeye, earning the third seed at 174 pounds, behind Penn State’s Matt Brown and defending conference tournament champ Robert Kokesh of Nebraska. Evans is a three-time runner up at the Big Ten championships.

Both Nathan Burak and Bobby Telford earned the No. 4 seeds at 197 pounds and heavyweight, respectively. Burak owns a win over top-seeded Snyder, and Telford beat both second-seeded Mike McMullan (Northwestern) and top-seeded Connor Medbery (Wisconsin) en route to his 2014 Midlands title.

Of the other Iowa wrestlers, Cory Clark is seeded fifth at 133, Josh Dziewa sixth at 141, and Michael Kelly and Nick Moore earned the seventh seeds at 157 and 165, respectively.

— by Cody Goodwin

In today's issue:

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.