Three Johnson County Officials ran unopposed

BY DI STAFF | NOVEMBER 05, 2014 5:00 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Three Johnson County incumbent officials retained their seats Tuesday because they ran unopposed.

Johnson County Treasurer Thomas Kriz, a Democrat, has been treasurer since January 1999.

Before, he was the senior vice president of Hawkeye State Bank.

Also re-elected was County Attorney Janet Lyness, also a Democrat.

She served 16 years in the criminal and civil divisions of the County Attorney’s Office, and has been the county’s prosecutor since 2006, making this her third term.

Kim Paintor, a Democrat as well, was re-elected to her position as Johnson County recorder.

She was first elected in 1998. At that time, she was the first openly gay person elected to an Iowa public office.

In 2007, she was selected to serve as president of the Iowa State Association of Counties and has also chaired Iowa’s Commission on the Status of Women.

— by Aaron Walker

In today's issue:

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.