Local representatives will keep their seats in the State House

BY DI STAFF | NOVEMBER 05, 2014 5:00 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

As the final ballots were submitted and Election Day came to a close Tuesday, four area Iowa House members, all Democrats were guaranteed to keep their seats.

Unopposed representatives filled seats for Districts 74, 77, 85, and 86, encompassing the Iowa City, Riverside, and Coralville areas, and they will continue to serve their constituents following the midterm election.

Rep. Dave Jacoby, D-Coralville, is ranking member of the Appropriations Committee. His top priorities for the 2015 legislative session include balancing the budget and making sure the voting system remains free of voter suppression.

Rep. Sally Stutsman, D-Riverside, formerly a five-term Johnson County supervisor, is specifically interested in revisiting the broadband bill that would provide Internet access to everybody in Iowa, especially in rural areas.

Rep. Vicki Lensing, D-Iowa City, will serve her seventh term in the House. She is a member of the Education, Economic Development, and Environmental Protection Committees.

Rep. Mary Mascher, D-Iowa City, is assistant minority leader and will serve her 11th term in the House. Her top priorities for the next legislative session include discussing ways to make sure Iowa roads and bridges are safe and to help cities with infrastructure costs. She also hopes to revisit a bullying bill that would help fund statewide training for bullying investigators.

— by Aleksandra Vujicic

In today's issue:

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.