Zadick, ’97 Hawkeyes honored

BY DI STAFF | OCTOBER 29, 2014 5:00 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Former Iowa All-American and Olympian Mike Zadick, along with the 1997 Iowa wrestling team, will be inducted into the Glen Brand Hall of Fame as part of its 2015 class on May 30, 2015.

While at Iowa, Zandick won the 149-pound Big Ten title in 2002 and was a three time All-American from 2000-02. After his college days were over, he began to compete internationally, winning a silver medal at the 2006 World Championships and was on the 2007 and 2010 World Championship teams. Zadick was also a member of team USA in the Beijing Olympics in 2008.

He was a part of Iowa’s coaching staff when Iowa won three-straight NCAA titles from 2008-10.

The 1997 Iowa wrestling team is also being honored as one of the most dominate teams in college wrestling history. It is just the third team ever inducted in the Hall of Fame, and it scored a tournament-record 170 points in the NCAA meet.

Iowa’s 1997 team was also the last under legendary coach Dan Gable and capped his illustrious career with the program’s 17th national title, five NCAA champions, and eight All-Americans.

— by Jordan Hansen

In today's issue:

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.