Several Hawks make Big Ten teams

BY DI STAFF | DECEMBER 03, 2013 5:00 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Postseason awards for the Big Ten were announced on Monday, and members of the 2013 Iowa Hawkeyes football team, which finished the regular season with an 8-4 record, were well represented on the lists by both the conference’s coaches and the media. 

Offensive tackle Brandon Scherff and tight end C.J. Fiedorowicz were named to the All-Big Ten first team, and defensive lineman Carl Davis and linebackers James Morris and Anthony Hitchens were named to the second team by the coaches. 

The Hawkeyes also had six players earn honorable-mention awards from the conference’s coaches: center Austin Blythe, offensive lineman Conor Boffeli, linebacker Christian Kirksey, safety Tanner Miller, defensive back B.J. Lowery, and defensive lineman Louis Trinca-Pasat. 

The media placed Scherff and Fiedorowicz on their second-team ballots along with Morris, and they placed Lowery on the first-team ballot. Davis and Hitchens were relegated to honorable mention by the media, which included the same players, to go along with the addition of senior long snapper Casey Kreiter.

— by Matt Cabel 

In today's issue:

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.