Track and field team names captains

BY DI STAFF | OCTOBER 09, 2013 5:00 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

The Iowa track and field team announced Tuesday its captains for the 2013-14 season, which will begin Dec. 7 with the annual intrasquad meet in the Recreation Building.

The team named three men and three women to its leadership roles: Ethan Holmes, Tevin-Cee Mincy, Kyle Reid, MonTayla Holder, Shannon Masser, and Jasmine Simpson. The athletes were elected to the positions by their teammates and coaches.

The team’s indoor portion of the schedule features two home meets: the Iowa Open on Jan. 18 and the Iowa Invitational on Feb. 21. The outdoor season begins in March with the Arizona State invitational.

“This is a great group that has reached significant achievements on the track,” said director of track and field Larry Wieczorek in a release. “It’s a group that includes school-record holders, Big Ten champions, and All-Americans, but it’s also a group that displays great leadership in life and has earned the respect of their teammates.”

— by Matt Cabel

In today's issue:

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.