Brackets announced for wrestling championships

BY CODY GOODWIN | MARCH 14, 2013 5:00 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

The Iowa wrestling team qualified nine of its members for the upcoming NCAA wrestling championships. The tournament will be held in Des Moines at the Wells Fargo Arena on March 21-23.

The NCAA released the brackets, along with seedings, on Wednesday. Each of Iowa’s nine wrestlers earned an automatic bid because of their performances at the Big Ten wrestling championships last weekend in Champaign, Ill.

Of the nine wrestlers, the NCAA seeded eight. Tony Ramos (133-pounds), and Derek St. John (157) both earned the second overall seed in their weight classes. Mike Evans (174) and Matt McDonough (125) each earned the third seed.

Bobby Telford (285) landed a six seed. Mark Ballweg (141) is pegged as the seven seed. Nick Moore (165) rounded out the Hawkeyes seeded in the top 10 with the 10th overall seed at his weight, and Ethen Lofthouse (184) garnered the 12 seed at his.

The lone Hawkeye that didn’t earn a seed was freshman Nathan Burak (197), who drew top-ranked Dustin Kilgore of Kent State as his first-round matchup. Under head coach Tom Brands, this is the seventh time in as many seasons that Iowa has sent eight or more wrestlers to the NCAA meet.

Iowa’s nine wrestlers are the second-most among the 72 schools that qualified at least one wrestler for the national tournament. The Hawkeyes tied for second with Ohio State and Virginia, and they were topped by five schools — Penn State, Minnesota, Missouri, Oklahoma State, and Virginia Tech — who qualified all 10 wrestlers.

In today's issue:

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.