Branstad appoints Iowa Public Information Board members

BY DI STAFF | JUNE 29, 2012 6:30 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Gov. Terry Branstad announced the nine members of Iowa's new Public Information Board Thursday.

The board earlier was established this year in Senate File 430 in order to "[provide] government officials and Iowans information on compliance with state open meetings and open record laws."

"When running for governor, Lt. Gov. Reynolds and I promised Iowans we would have an open, honest and transparent administration," Branstad said in a press release. "This has long been a priority of mine because this legislation ensures transparency and provides Iowans the necessary access to their government. This is a new day for Iowans as we hold government accountable and shed light on its activities."

The board members are Robert Andeweg, Urbandale; Tony Gaugan, West Des Moines; Jo Martin, Spirit Lake; Andy McKean, Anamosa; Gary Mohr, Bettendorf; Bill Monroe, Johnston; Kathleen Richardson, Des Moines; Suzan Stewart, Sioux City; and Peggy Weitl, Carroll.

Their terms begin on July 1.

— by Kristen East

In today's issue:

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.