Hayden Fry to receive lifetime achievement award

BY DI STAFF | AUGUST 30, 2011 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Former Iowa football coach Hayden Fry will receive the Marathon Oil Corporation Paul “Bear” Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award, the American Heart Association announced on Monday.

Fry will be recognized on Jan. 19, 2012, in Houston. Proceeds from the awards ceremony benefit the American Heart Association.

First awarded to former Texas coach Darrell Royal in 2000, the Bear Bryant Award “recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field,” a release said. Past award-winners include Lou Holtz, Bo Schembechler, and Tom Osborne.

Fry coached for 36 years, 20 at the helm of the Hawkeyes. He resurrected an Iowa program that, prior to his hiring in 1978, hadn’t had a winning season in 17 years. Fry led Iowa to 143 wins, 14 bowl appearances including three in the Rose Bowl, and three Big Ten titles.

While at Southern Methodist University in the 1960s and ’70s, Fry gave Jerry LeVias a scholarship — the first scholarship for an African-American athlete in the history of the Southwest Conference.

Fry retired from Iowa in 1998 and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2003.

To purchase tickets or a table to the Bear Bryant Awards, go to bryantawards.com or call 713-610-5000.

— by Seth Roberts

In today's issue:

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.