Three Hawkeye tennis players win academic award

BY DI STAFF | JULY 21, 2011 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

The Iowa men's tennis team was one of six Big Ten squads to receive the Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic team award for the 2010-11 academic year, according to a release.

In order for a team to be eligible for the award, it must compile a grade-point average of at least 3.20.

The Hawkeyes were led in the classroom by Mitch Beckert, Garret Dunn, and Chase Tomlins, all of whom received individual scholar-athlete honors. The trio qualified by carrying a minimum 3.5 GPA.

The honor is the third scholastic award Dunn has won in the past two months. The native of Tempe, Ariz., was one of 72 Iowa athletes to be named Academic All-Big Ten in June, and the conference honored the 6-8 junior-to-be with its prestigious Distinguished Scholar Award last week. Dunn was one of just 34 Hawkeyes to win the latter award.

"I am very proud of the academic achievements of our team and, of course, Mitch, Garret, and Chase," head coach Steve Houghton said in a release. "We have always taken great pride in our academic success and these honors are indicative of our student-athletes' hard work."

— by Seth Roberts

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.