Big Ten gives 34 Hawkeyes scholastic honor

BY DI STAFF | JULY 15, 2011 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

The Big Ten honored 34 Hawkeyes with its Distinguished Scholar Award on Thursday, according to a release.

The award is given to athletes who earn a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 or higher in a given academic year. Eligible athletes must be a letterwinner and in at least their second academic year at their institution.

Of the 34 Hawkeyes to receive the honor, 10 earned 4.0 GPAs in the 2010-11 year: cross-country's Sam Bailin, women's golfer Gigi DiGrazia, rowers Anna Kolden, Haylie Miller, and Allison Robinson, soccer player Jade Grimm, swimmers Anna Flessner and Sarah Galvin, and distance runners Kelsey Hart and Hannah Roeder.

The women's track team had the most representatives on the list, with six. The tracksters were followed by the soccer and rowing teams, which each have five athletes on the list. The field hockey, women's gymnastics, and women's swimming and diving teams each contributed three names. A complete list can be found at HawkeyeSports.com.

As an institution, Iowa tied with Wisconsin for the fewest representatives in the Big Ten. Michigan State and Minnesota each had 68 athletes on the list to lead the conference.

— by Seth Roberts

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.