Five football Hawkeyes honored

BY DI STAFF | JULY 06, 2011 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Five members of the Iowa football team were placed on preseason award watch lists on Tuesday, according to a release.

Sophomore running back Marcus Coker was named to the Maxwell Award list and senior defensive back Shaun Prater was named to the Bednarik Award list.

The Maxwell Award is given each year to the most outstanding player in college football. If Coker wins the award, he will join Nile Kinnick and Chuck Long as the only Hawkeyes to receive the honor since its inception in 1937.

The Bednarik Award is presented to college football’s top defensive player; it has never been won by a Hawkeye. It has, however, found its home in the Big Ten in seven of its 16 years of existence.

Senior wide receiver Marvin McNutt, senior defensive lineman Mike Daniels, and junior defensive back Micah Hyde were named to the College Football Performance Awards watch lists for their positions.

The trio joins sophomore kicker Mike Meyer as Iowa’s representatives on the list. The kicker was named to the organization’s placekicking and kickoff specialist lists earlier in the summer.

— by Seth Roberts

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.