Mason named vice chair for Big Ten Presidents council

BY DI STAFF | JULY 05, 2011 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

University of Iowa President Sally Mason will serve as vice chairwoman of the Big Ten Council of Presidents/Chancellors, according to a press release.

Mason will join Indiana University President Michael McRobbie, who will serve as the chairman for his second year. According to the release, Michigan State University President Lou Anna K. Simon and Penn State University President Graham Spanier will also join Mason on the Executive Committee.

The Council of Presidents/Chancellors Executive Committee provides direction to the commissioner in regards to the day-to-day operations in the Big Ten. The committee meets twice a year, according to a press release.

“The Council of Presidents/Chancellors and the Executive Committee are actively involved in setting the direction of the conference and its member institutions,” said Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany in the press release.

“I want to thank them for their vision and their efforts in maintaining the conference’s preeminent position as a leader in providing quality athletics and academic experiences for our student-athletes.”

— by Ariana Witt

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.