Obama adds six Iowa counties to Presidential Major Disaster Declaration

BY DI STAFF | JUNE 28, 2011 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

President Obama authorized a Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for six Iowa counties affected by flooding along the Missouri River Monday, according to a press release from Gov. Terry Branstad’s office.

Branstad received notice of Obama’s decision Monday. According to the release, the president’s declaration will provide federal funds for Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, and Woodbury Counties.

This marks the 12th presidential disaster declaration in the state since March 2007.

“I am pleased to see the Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for these six counties came through,” Branstad said. “As we are still actively fighting the flood, this declaration provides a much needed financial boost to our local governments.”

The disaster declaration will also fund conducting hazard-mitigation projects for all of Iowa, which would minimize the effect of future natural disasters.

— by Ariana Witt

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.