Big Ten Football Championship, basketball tournament sites announced

BY SETH ROBERTS | JUNE 06, 2011 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

The inaugural Big Ten Football Championship Game will be held at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis every year through 2015, the conference announced on Sunday.

The league’s Council of Presidents/Chancellors approved a recommendation from university administrators, and the first Championship will take place in prime time on Dec. 3. The winner will represent the conference in either the Rose Bowl or the BCS National Championship Game in January 2012.

The Big Ten also announced that its men’s and women’s basketball tournaments, which have been held at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis for the past four years, will rotate between Indianapolis and Chicago starting in the 2012-13 academic year. Both tournaments will be in Indy in 2012, 2014 and 2016 and in Chicago in 2013 and 2015.

The men’s tourney will be held in the United Center, home of the Chicago Bulls and the site of the inaugural men’s tournament in 1998. The women will play in the suburbs, at the Sears Centre Arena in Hoffman Estates, Ill. The stadium has never hosted the tournament.

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.