Three Hawkeyes receive NFF honor


SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Three Iowa senior football players were named members of the 2011 National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society last week. Josh Koeppel, Jeff Tarpinian, and Julian Vandervelde all received the honor.

Qualifications for membership in the society include: being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at a college or university, achieving a 3.2 cumulative GPA throughout one's undergraduate study, and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress toward degree requirements and graduation.

A total of 671 players from 241 schools qualified for membeship in the society's fifth year.

"In just the fifth year of this initiative, it gives the National Football Foundation great pride to honor so many qualified and accomplished college players as members of this year's Hampshire Honor Society," group President & CEO Steve Hatchell said in a release.

"The number of players we are able to recognize has nearly doubled since the first year of the program, showing that you can play football at the highest level and still be a standout student."

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.