Thirteen track and field athletes earn All-Big Ten honors

BY DI STAFF | MARCH 02, 2011 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Thirteen Iowa track and field athletes have been honored by the Big Ten with all-conference honors, including seven on the first team and six on the second team.

The men’s squad was represented on the first-team by Steven Willey, Erik Sowinski, Patrick Richards, Ethan Holmes, Troy Doris, and Justin Austin.

Willey, Sowinski, Richards, and Holmes took first place at the indoor Big Ten championships in the 4x400 meter relay. The group holds the sixth fastest time in the country at 3:07.84.

The Hawkeye men had more first-teamers than any other school in the conference.

Bethany Praska was named to the women’s first team; she won the 600 meters at last weekend’s conference championships. The senior’s time of 1:28.99 is the second fastest nationally this season.

Teammates Betsy Flood, Nicole Erickson, Tiffany Hendricks, and Ashley Liverpool were named to the women’s second team.

Flood set personal records at the Big Ten meet in both the 3,000 (9:20.09) and 5,000 meters (16:20.67).

On the men’s side, sophomore Jordan Mullen was selected for the second team. Mullen’s season-best 60-meter hurdle time of 7.75 seconds is the second-fastest in the conference.

— by Ben Schuff

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus

Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.