18 Hawks honored

BY DI STAFF | DECEMBER 09, 2009 7:30 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Finishing 10-2 overall and earning a trip to the Orange Bowl next January has done wonders for the Iowa football team this postseason.

A league-high 18 Hawkeye players were named to Phil Steele’s All-Big Ten teams, including six first-team honorees, on Tuesday.

Senior linebacker Pat Angerer, junior offensive tackle Bryan Bulaga, junior defensive end Adrian Clayborn, senior tight end Tony Moeaki, sophomore safety Tyler Sash, and junior cornerback Amari Spievey all earned first-team recognition.

The six selected are the most of any team in the Big Ten.

Senior center Raphael Eubanks, senior offensive tackle Kyle Calloway, senior linebacker A.J. Edds, and junior punter Ryan Donahue were named to the second-team. Eubanks, Calloway, and Edds previously received second-team All-Big Ten recognition, and Donahue was an all-Big Ten honorable mention.

In addition to the all-Big Ten honors, two Hawkeyes earned freshman All-American honors.
Offensive tackle Riley Reiff was named a third-team freshman All-American by CollegeFootballNews.com and FoxSports.com. Reiff appeared in all 12 games, starting three times at left tackle and seven games at left guard.

— by Ryan Young

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus
Daily Iowan Advertising
Today's Display Ads | Today's Classifieds | Advertising Info

Follow the DI through:


Sponsored Links  
T-Shirt Design  
Insurance Leads Charlotte Web Design
Health Insurance Leads Home Equity Loans
Life Insurance  
Custom Magnets DMI Furniture
Solar Products Custom USB
Snow Removal & Odd Jobs Buy a text ad


Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.