Ferentz, Angerer, Vandervelde honored

BY DI STAFF | NOVEMBER 06, 2009 7:20 AM

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Kirk Ferentz, Pat Angerer, and Julian Vandervelde all made news on Thursday.

Ferentz was named one of 15 semifinalists for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award. He earned the national honor in 2002 after guiding the Hawkeyes to an 8-0 Big Ten record, which helped earn Iowa an invitation to the 2003 Orange Bowl.

Angerer was named a semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award, which is presented at season’s end to the top defensive college football player. The Bettendorf native currently has 89 tackles, which leads the Hawkeyes through nine games.

Vandervelde was honored for an off-field feat. The junior offensive lineman was named a second team Academic All-American in District Seven by ESPN The Magazine and the College Sports Information Directors of America.

It is the second time Vandervelde has garnered the accolade; he currently has a 3.47 GPA majoring in religious studies and English.

— by Brendan Stiles

> Share your thoughts! Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.

comments powered by Disqus
Daily Iowan Advertising
Today's Display Ads | Today's Classifieds | Advertising Info

Follow the DI through:


Sponsored Links  
T-Shirt Design  
Insurance Leads Charlotte Web Design
Health Insurance Leads Home Equity Loans
Life Insurance  
Custom Magnets DMI Furniture
Solar Products Custom USB
  Buy a text ad


Privacy Policy (8/15/07) | Terms of Use (4/28/08) | Content Submission Agreement (8/23/07) | Copyright Compliance Policy (8/25/07) | RSS Terms of Use

Copyright © The Daily Iowan, All Rights Reserved.